Arizona Governor Jan Brewer signed legislation Thursday making it illegal in Arizona to obtain an abortion after 20 settimane di gravidanza.
The law also includes new rules regarding disclosure of information including a requirement for the state to maintain a website showing images of babies at various states of development. The website would also require the state health department to post information about abortion alternatives and medical risks to the mother from the abortion procedure.
Inoltre, women will be required to get an ultrasound 24 hours before the procedure instead of the one hour in current law. Abortion clinics will also have post notices that it’s illegal to coerce a woman into an abortion.
"[Il disegno di legge] strengthens Arizona’s laws protecting the health and safety of women,” State Rep. Kimberly Yee said, “and recognizes the precious life of the preborn baby.”
Arizona joins Nebraska, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, North Carolina and Oklahoma in instituting the 20 week ban.